The Future of Music: Music in Combination with an Outside Field

Learning about the individual differences in relationship with music and movement was an interesting lesson. When Emily Carson, a doctoral student at the University of Jyväskylä, taught us about the big five traits I understood that personality has a lot to do with our behavior and to be more specific, it has to do with our dancing movements. I understood that a person like me whose identity is identified as conscientiousness preferred to think twice before acting, can be friendly and ongoing but also follow people or be their own leader. Applying this to dance movements, it will have meant that I follow other people steps while dancing, which is true because sometimes I do. For this reason, I found amazing that people study these types of human reactions based on their personalities.

On the other hand, visualize music therapy as a possible career was fascinating. After having several misconceptions about music therapy, I have found this career very interesting. As a becoming sophomore at college, I have decided that I might not directly study this career but I’m willing to follow future studies involved in music therapy.
During the presentation, Birgitta Burger, an Academy post-doc researcher, said that usually people who suffer from a stroke are taken to the hospital to continue their treatment in an environment where practices result very repetitive for the patients and that for the same reason music therapy exists as an alternative to making something better for them. One of the things that came to my mind while Birgitta Burger and Emily Carlson were presenting this was that clinical treatment plus musical treatment, in fact, are important for human’s beings.

One of my goals is to obtain my master’s degree in prosthetics to have the opportunity to improve people quality life. By combining my interests and the knowledge learned in this class, I was thinking about the future of prosthetics. If the prosthesis treatment combined with music is helping patients to progress already, allowing them to listen to the music that they made during one therapy can increase their confidence in themselves and also allowing them to get better. My thoughts went into the research field of prosthetics where I could be able to investigate how to integrate music into a prosthesis so that patients could be able to improve their physical and emotional life when listening to the music that they have made on their therapies.

As can be seen, the future of music combined with other careers as medicine is very close to us. I will follow closely the studies that are based on the methods in music cognition and perception, especially in the developmental psychology of music. It has been exciting for me to know more about how humans perceive music and the way we accept it for our good. After all, we are humans and we need to be connected to the same voice; the voice to be heard, the voice to be understood through the music, and the voice to help and be helped with each other through musical engagement.

Leave a Reply

