The Psychology of Music

As I look back on the past week, the Music Cognition and Perception course at the summer school was definitely one that I enjoyed. Although I did not know much about it, I took the class anyway, eager to learn about other fields of music. Then, when I learned it was going to be more focused on research in the world of music, I became even more intrigued. I had little knowledge about this, aside from hearing/reading about a few psychological studies involving the effect of certain kinds of music on cognitive processes.

For me, the most interesting days of class were the final two. I have always been interested in how seemingly unrelated things could affect the mind and body, and by learning about various topics in the field of music psychology, I was able to learn why people behave the way they do when exposed to music. This can be related to their temperament, being introverted versus extraverted, and even as a result of the people around them.

After taking this class, I feel more and more compelled to learn more about music psychology. I am most interested in the kinds of effects music education can have on an individual’s cognitive processes and how that may or may not have helped them progress through their lives. As a music student, music education is of utmost importance to me, as it has helped me mature into the person I am today. Although I do not plan to involve myself in the field of education, I think it would be interesting to kind out what kind of cognitive benefits (or otherwise) this kind of upbringing would bring. Ultimately, I think I scientific investigation into the matter would help put an end to the controversy of bringing arts funding into schools, as it would provide answers regarding why the arts should or should not be more common in a person’s formal education.

Leave a Reply

